Reviews for State House on Congress

Posted On: 8/17/2017

Terrible apartment

The location is wonderful, but the headache to deal with this place doesn't make up for it. From day one of moving in, we had issues. I had a rattling in my ceiling every single morning that would wake me up and continue for about 10 minutes every time the person above me took a shower. The worst part about it was - the staff lied about not knowing what it was until I had a friend who used to live here and had the same issue and then they magically "discovered" the issue but never resolved it. They pretended to come over to listen for it, but wouldn't go the extra step to show up before the office opens when the rattling actually happened. Every piece of the apartment falls apart. The shower would never get hot. The staff was the worst part. They never wanted to help nor did they know anything about the apartment. If we had something show up on our bill, they couldn't answer it for you. They leave your packages in a room that's completely up for grabs (lost an expensive package from bed bath & beyond). They say there's plenty of parking but the lot fills up quick so you have to park about 5 minutes from your unit. Then at move out, we made sure there wasn't any trash leftover but we ended up owing $700 in "damages." Not the best apartment..
By: Anonymous   
Read Property Manager's Response

Posted On: 4/25/2017

Decent place

I enjoyed my time at the Statehouse, but only because of the location. The price was good for the area, but that is because the amenities are subpar and cheap. The office staff are wonderful, but the mandatory rent hikes each year are a deal killer.
By: Mark   
Read Property Manager's Response

Posted On: 7/13/2016

Towing company for state house

Car was towed from my apartment at state house need towing company name
By: Anonymous   
Read Property Manager's Response

Posted On: 4/8/2015

Fed up with State House

It's hard to find a better location than the Statehouse on Congress. That's about as far as the good goes. In the nine months that I have lived at the Statehouse I have gotten almost nothing in return for my exorbitant rent. The apartments are mediocre, unkept and poorly built, while the management tries to nickel and dime you every chance they get. When things break (which they often do), maintenance takes their sweet time to help you, if they ever do. The worst came this morning, though. For the past nine months I have been parking in the same exact spot without problem. Last night, though, I decided to crack my window to air out my car. I woke up to see that my car had been towed by the tow company contracted through Statehouse. From what I can tell, someone stole my parking sticker, which prompted the tow company to tow my car. Not only did the Statehouse do nothing to help me, but they then charged me to get a replacement sticker! To top it off, after getting home from picking up my car I realized my bike seat had gotten stolen. So much for security of any kind. I haven't even mentioned the dog poop littered everywhere around the complex or the consistently broken amenities (don't even try to use the hot tub or sauna). If you don't care about your safety or consistent hidden fees, check out the State House. I, for one, will not be renewing my lease.
By: Patrick Rafferty   
Read Property Manager's Response

Posted On: 2/12/2015

Typical!! rip you off on move-out

Thought it was a good place...Until they charged me $600 to replace the carpet due to the depressions left by the couch. Pretty sure that is normal wear on carpet...Save yourself the headache and go with City View at SoCo
By: Jason Earles   
Read Property Manager's Response

Overall Rating

3 out of 5 stars

Ratings By Category

Parking
2 out of 5 stars
Amenities
2.5 out of 5 stars
Maintenance
2 out of 5 stars
Staff
2.5 out of 5 stars
Value
2 out of 5 stars
Location
4.5 out of 5 stars
Noise
3 out of 5 stars